We're Moving!

Click for more info.

Any Tool fans here?

Have a favorite band? Book? Movie? Discuss everything entertainment here.
peskydonut
MoT Member

Any Tool fans here?

Post by peskydonut »

Curious to hear thoughts on the new album. Anyone selling their Pateks to go see them on tour?
Living a comeback montage.
Bbrou33
MoT Member

Re: Any Tool fans here?

Post by Bbrou33 »

I guess I never check this part of the forum, but I'm a pretty big Tool fan. Have seen them 7 times and that was only after the release of 10,000 days. Sadly, while I liked their music before that, I was maybe too young to see them in their real prime between Aenima and Lateralus.

Anyway, i like their new album. I think it sounds like a Tool album of today. Maynard's voice is shot so long gone are the songs of him holding a note for 10 minutes. But Danny Carey is probably my favorite drummer (I'm a drummer) and he REALLY goes off on some of these songs.
Overall, I like it and have listened to it many times. I sadly won't be catching them on tour I don't think. I have plans already when they come to NYC. I think my brother is going see them in NOLA. They do put on one hell of a laser and visual show.
Insta me: bbrou33
peskydonut
MoT Member

Post by peskydonut »

Tool is one of those rare bands that stayed relevant to my life throughout the decades. I got into them in high school during Aenima/Undertow, saw them tour during Lateralus/10,000 Days, and still find myself listening now with Fear Inoculum. While I still appreciate their angrier older stuff (pre-Lateralus), what I really love is the introspective, insightful, and perhaps more "mature" work that came after Aenima. Lateralus is my all time favorite album (and song).

I think FI is great, but I'm still digesting it. In fact, I might just go listen to Invincible now.

Here's where I've seen them as best as I can remember...

New York (MSG) 2001
Albany (Pepsi Arena) 2002
Las Vegas (Hard Rock) 2006
Denver (Pepsi Center) 2007